Financial Advisor Designations

Designation: CAS
Designation Full Title: Certified Annuity Specialist
Definition: The CAS program, exams, and case study are designed to teach you what a practitioner faces every day-from risk measurement to strategic asset allocation and MPT. You will gain enormous benefits from taking this course if you are an accountant, advisor, banker, broker, money manager, or planner. By the end of the course, you will have gained a foundational understanding of a modern practitioner with knowledge that will last a lifetime and help build long-term clientele. As with all of IBF’s designation programs, completing the CAS will contribute three units toward an eventual Master of Science in Financial Services degree.

Issuing Organization: Institute of Business and Finance
Is the designation still offered: Currently offered & recognized by the issuing organization
Is the designation still supported: 
What are the prerequisites? Candidate must have bachelor’s degree or 1 year financial service work
What are the requirements to obtain the designation? 6 modules in a self study program
What type of examination is required to complete the designation process? 3 exams and a case study
Is there any ongoing continuing education or other requirements to maintain the designation? 30 hours every 2 years
Where can you check if someone has the designation and if it’s current?
Does the designation have a complaint process and if so, where can it be found?
Is there a published list of disciplined designees and if so, where can it be viewed?
Who is the accreditation through? None
Recommended for: None stated, seems to be financial advisors or wealth managers
Code of Ethics or Ethics Course? None on website
Length of Time For Completion: Hours depend on state, range from 12-60, CA is 60 hours designed to be completed in 15 weeks