Financial Advisor Designations

Designation: CFA
Designation Full Title: Chartered Financial Analyst
Definition: The CFA Program curriculum covers concepts and skills you will use at all stages of your career, connecting academic theory with current industry practice and ethical and professional standards to provide a strong foundation of advanced investment analysis and real-world portfolio management skills.

Issuing Organization: CFA Institute
Is the designation still offered: Currently offered & recognized by the issuing organization
Is the designation still supported: 
What are the prerequisites? Undergraduate degree and 4 years investment decision making or 4 years qualified full time work experience
What are the requirements to obtain the designation? Self study program 3 levels
What type of examination is required to complete the designation process? 3 course exams
Is there any ongoing continuing education or other requirements to maintain the designation? None
Where can you check if someone has the designation and if it’s current? None
Does the designation have a complaint process and if so, where can it be found? Yes,
Is there a published list of disciplined designees and if so, where can it be viewed? Database gives non working link
Who is the accreditation through? None
Recommended for: Anyone in investing
Code of Ethics or Ethics Course? Yes,
Length of Time For Completion: Takes about 4 years and 250-300 hours per level