Financial Advisor Designations

Designation: CFG
Designation Full Title: Certified Financial Gerontologist
Definition: The RFG® will drastically differentiate you from your competition by providing you with in-depth knowledge of prospective clients — biology, psychology, sociology and demography – and help you understand the lifelong wealth span issues and aspirations of aging individuals.

Issuing Organization: American Institute of Financial Gerontology
Is the designation still offered: Currently offered & recognized by the issuing organization
Is the designation still supported: 
What are the prerequisites? Existing Financial background in designation, license, degree, verifiable experience or 18 hour service learning completed within 1 year of final exam
What are the requirements to obtain the designation? 6 self study courses
What type of examination is required to complete the designation process? Final certification exam
Is there any ongoing continuing education or other requirements to maintain the designation? 8 hours continuing education and 8 hours service learning per year
Where can you check if someone has the designation and if it’s current? None
Does the designation have a complaint process and if so, where can it be found? None
Is there a published list of disciplined designees and if so, where can it be viewed? None
Who is the accreditation through? None
Recommended for: Accountants, attorneys, CPA’s, Insurance agents, financial planners, reverse mortgage landers
Code of Ethics or Ethics Course? yes,
Length of Time For Completion: 1d