Financial Advisor Designations

Designation: CTFA
Designation Full Title: Certified Trust and Financial Advisor
Definition: Establish a recognized standard of knowledge and competence for the trust and wealth advisory field, formally recognize those who meet standards, provide employers and clients tools to ID skilled, knowledgeable professionals, support benefits of professionals continuing education and development

Issuing Organization: American Banker’s Association and Institute of Certified Bankers
Is the designation still offered: Currently offered & recognized by the issuing organization
Is the designation still supported: 
What are the prerequisites? 3 years wealth management exp +ICB approved training program, 5 years personal trust exp +bachelor’s degree, 10 years personal trust exp
What are the requirements to obtain the designation? None
What type of examination is required to complete the designation process? Final certification exam
Is there any ongoing continuing education or other requirements to maintain the designation? 45 credits every 3 years with min 6 hours in each 4 knowledge areas: Fiduciary and Trust Activities, Personal Financial planning, Tax Law, Investement management, ethics
Where can you check if someone has the designation and if it’s current? None
Does the designation have a complaint process and if so, where can it be found? None
Is there a published list of disciplined designees and if so, where can it be viewed? None
Who is the accreditation through? None
Recommended for: wealth managers, investment officers, trust officers, financial planners, trust tax specialists, private bankers, trust administrators
Code of Ethics or Ethics Course? Yes,
Length of Time For Completion: Not specified