Financial Advisor Designations

Designation: FSS
Designation Full Title: Financial Services Specialist
Definition: The FSS designation provides financial advisors with the core knowledge and skills they need to provide essential planning and advisory assistance to consumers and businesses. FSS professionals often continue their education to earn such advanced credentials as CFP® certification, the ChFC®, or the CLU®.

Issuing Organization: The American College
Is the designation still offered: Currently offered & recognized by the issuing organization
Is the designation still supported: 
What are the prerequisites? None
What are the requirements to obtain the designation? 3 core courses and 3 electives
What type of examination is required to complete the designation process? 1 final exam per course
Is there any ongoing continuing education or other requirements to maintain the designation? 2010 or later need 3 hours ethics training every 2 years
Where can you check if someone has the designation and if it’s current? Yes,
Does the designation have a complaint process and if so, where can it be found? Yes,
Is there a published list of disciplined designees and if so, where can it be viewed? None
Who is the accreditation through? The Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Recommended for: Not stated, appears to be anyone
Code of Ethics or Ethics Course? yes,
Length of Time For Completion: Not specified