Financial Advisor Designations

Designation: PFS
Designation Full Title: Personal Financial Specialist
Definition: The PFS credential is awarded to CPAs who demonstrate the powerful combination of extensive tax expertise and a comprehensive knowledge of financial planning.

Issuing Organization: American Institute of CPA’s
Is the designation still offered: Currently offered & recognized by the issuing organization
Is the designation still supported: 
What are the prerequisites? Membership to AICPA; hold an unprovoked, state issued CPA certificate; 2 years or 300 hours teaching or business experience within 5 year period preceding the PFS application
What are the requirements to obtain the designation? 75 hours personal finance planning classes within 5 years preceding PFS application
What type of examination is required to complete the designation process? Final Certification exam
Is there any ongoing continuing education or other requirements to maintain the designation? 60 hours continuation education every 3 years
Where can you check if someone has the designation and if it’s current? None found
Does the designation have a complaint process and if so, where can it be found? Yes,
Is there a published list of disciplined designees and if so, where can it be viewed? none
Who is the accreditation through? None
Recommended for: CPA’s
Code of Ethics or Ethics Course? Yes,
Length of Time For Completion: 75 education hours and 7 hours for the final exam