Financial Advisor Designations

Designation: RFC
Designation Full Title: Registered Financial Consultant
Definition: professional advisors who help their clients wisely spend, save, invest, insure and plan for the future in order to achieve financial independence and peace of mind.

Issuing Organization: International Association of Registered Financial Consultants
Is the designation still offered: Currently offered & recognized by the issuing organization
Is the designation still supported: 
What are the prerequisites? Undergrad or graduate financial planning degree or a designation: AAMS, AEP, CEP, CFA, CFP, ChFC, CLU, CPA, EA, LUTC, MS, MBA, JD, PhD; complete CFA equivalent course approved by the IARFC; 4 years full time financial planning practitioner; registration as a investment advisor if operating on a fee only; if commission basis, meet licensing requirements for securities and life and health insurance
What are the requirements to obtain the designation? Completion of approved college financial planning course or IARFC self-study course
What type of examination is required to complete the designation process? IARFC self study: final certification exam; College: IARFC examination process
Is there any ongoing continuing education or other requirements to maintain the designation? 40 hours continuing education every year
Where can you check if someone has the designation and if it’s current? None
Does the designation have a complaint process and if so, where can it be found? yes,
Is there a published list of disciplined designees and if so, where can it be viewed? Yes,
Who is the accreditation through? None
Recommended for: Financial consultants, retirement planners
Code of Ethics or Ethics Course? yes,
Length of Time For Completion: Not specified