Financial Advisor Designations

Designation: CRM
Designation Full Title: Certified Risk Manager
Definition: The Certified Risk Managers (CRM) designation demonstrates that you are knowledgeable in all areas of managing risks, hazards, and exposures.

Issuing Organization: The National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research
Is the designation still offered: Currently offered & recognized by the issuing organization
Is the designation still supported: 
What are the prerequisites? None. Though two or more years of prior insurance or risk management experience is strongly recommended.
What are the requirements to obtain the designation? Five courses (classroom and/or online).
What type of examination is required to complete the designation process? Pass all five CRM exams within five calendar years after you pass your first CIC exam, or pass any four CIC exams plus any one of the five CRM exams within five calendar years after you pass your first CIC or CRM exam.
Is there any ongoing continuing education or other requirements to maintain the designation? Multiple options – hours not listed
Where can you check if someone has the designation and if it’s current? No
Does the designation have a complaint process and if so, where can it be found? Not directly, though there is an internal process.
Is there a published list of disciplined designees and if so, where can it be viewed? None
Who is the accreditation through? None
Recommended for: All active risk managers are eligible to register for the CRM Program in addition to accountants, financial and insurance professionals, loss control and legal experts, and anyone associated with risk management of an organization.
Code of Ethics or Ethics Course? Yes, Standards of Conduct at
Length of Time For Completion: 100 Hours of instruction