Financial Advisor Designations

Designation: MPAS
Designation Full Title: Master Planner Advanced Studies
Definition: Knowledge beyond typical financial licensing and credentials. The program begins with the six core disciplines of financial planning before exploring advanced topic areas.

Issuing Organization: College For Financial Planning
Is the designation still offered: Yes
Is the designation still supported: Yes
What are the prerequisites? None listed
What are the requirements to obtain the designation? Self study and online courses
What type of examination is required to complete the designation process? Proctored and Timed Test
Is there any ongoing continuing education or other requirements to maintain the designation? 40 hours every 2 years
Where can you check if someone has the designation and if it’s current? Designation Search at:
Does the designation have a complaint process and if so, where can it be found? Grievance can be filed with the College for Financial Planning
Is there a published list of disciplined designees and if so, where can it be viewed? Yes.
Who is the accreditation through? Higher Learning Commission
Recommended for: Financial Advisors
Code of Ethics or Ethics Course? Yes. See: Standards of Conduct at:
Length of Time For Completion: Not known. Must have completed a Master of Science Degree with a major in personal financial planning.